Tolfa Short Film Festival

Submit to FacebookSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn youtubeInstagram
Slide 1 Slide 2 Slide 3 Slide 4 Slide 5 Slide 6 Slide 7 Slide 8 Slide 9 Slide 10


SE-MA-FOR Produkcja Filmowa in collaboration with the TOLFA ShortFilmFestival



Sunday, June 9, 2013
Screening and discussion with the CEO of the Luc Toutounghi Se-ma-for Studios in Lodz, winner of two Academy Awards for Best Animated Short Film in 1983 and 2008 with Tango with Peter and the Wolf

Graduate from Vancouver College in 1980, Luc is the CEO of Se-ma-for Produkcja Filmowa in Lodz Poland, he is a member of the GSFA (Groupement Suisse du Film d'Animation) the SFP (Swiss Producer Association) and the Polish Filmaker’s Assosiation. Between 1984 to 1998 he gained experience in the financial sector while working for various company such as Merrill Lynch, Nomura Europe and Yamaichi International Europe, he became a Director of Kreis Consulting (UK) a privately held company specialized in Film Finance in 1998. After the merger of the company with Archangel Film Group he joined  Se-ma-for Studio’s in 2009 first as their business developer, then COO and, finally, CEO. Luc is also a Director of the SMF International Animation Festival, specialized in the art of Stop Motion.

SE-MA-FOR Produkcja Filmowa
Se-ma-for Studio’s dates back from 1947 and is considered one of the oldest animation studios left in Europe. The studio located in Lodz Poland has in the last 66 year’s made more the 1450 films of which 850 in stop motion animations. Some of the most renowned directors of live and animation film started their career at Se-ma-for such as Polanski, Rybczynski and Suzie Templeton.
The Studio’s also produced a series of television series between the late 60’s and the 90’s such as Colargol, the Magic pencil, the Moomins. In the 90’s privatisation came about, the studio did go thru a period of difficulties but was able to survive and re-flourish again as one of the major stop motion studio’s in Europe . Se-ma-for was the producer of two Academy Awards for best short animation one in 1983 with Tango and one in 2008 with Peter and the Wolf.